Skip to content

Pakistan Cricket team becomes First to score 100 T20 wins

The Pakistan cricket team defeated South Africa in the series to become the first team in international cricket to win 100 T20s.
 Lead by Babar Azam, the national team easily won the last match of the three-match series at Gaddafi Stadium by 4 wickets. The team’s vice-captain and wicketkeeper Mohammad Rizwan performed brilliantly in the series and for this reason he was declared the best player of the series while the best player of the match was awarded to Mohammad Nawaz.
The national team started its journey in T20 cricket on August 28, 2006 with a five-wicket win over England led by Inzamam-ul-Haq and the journey reached 100 matches today. Pakistan excelled in the first T20 World Cup played in South Africa in 2007 and lost to India in a thrilling final.
 Led by Younis Khan, the national team defeated Sri Lanka by 8 wickets in the final of the World T20 in England in 2009 to become world champions.
 Pakistan became the second team to become world champions in T20 after one-day cricket. The national team has so far won 100 matches in the most number of 164 T20 matches while facing 59 defeats, 3 matches were tied and 2 matches ended in a draw.
India tops the list with 85 wins in 137 matches and 45 defeats. South Africa is third with 71 wins and 54 losses in 127 matches, Australia is fourth with 69 wins in 131 matches and New Zealand is fifth with 65 wins in 137 matches respectively.

Victory in Lahore brings up the 💯 for Pakistan@TheRealPCB are the first men’s team to reach a century of T20I wins

— ICC (@ICC) February 14, 2021

 In terms of individual performance in T20 cricket, former captain Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez are fourth and fifth with 2,335 and 2,323 runs respectively.
 In bowling, Sri Lanka’s Lasith Malinga tops the list with 107 wickets and Pakistan’s Shahid Afridi is second with 98 wickets, while Shoaib Malik tops the list of all-rounders.
 It may be recalled that T20 cricket at the international level started on August 5, 2004 with a match between the women’s teams of England and New Zealand in which the Kiwis won by 9 runs.
 The first ever International Twenty20 match between the Australian and New Zealand men’s teams was played on February 17, 2005 at Eden Park Auckland in the style of the 1980s. The first victory in the history of T20 cricket was achieved by Australia.

Leave a Reply